Hello world! :) | C2C Community

Hello world! :)

• 16 September 2021
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge

Hi!
My name is Jaume, and I’m a freelancer so I’m “my whole organization”. For some projects I collaborate with other freelancers.

I’ve been working on web development for more than 20 years and I still have clients which are the same ones from day one… As a consultant, developer, designer… You name it! But now I’m moving out of as “everyone has a nephew who can do a website in that thing called WordPress which is free...” and I want to grow as I reached my full potential there… Now I’m turning to the “Google Galaxy”. With my clients we’ve had the free Gmail from when it was free for enterprises many years ago and now we’ve turned them into GSuite for Non Profits (yes, it’s still called GSuite, not Workspace...). I’m the admin for their domains.

I’ve always enjoyed programming… Be it in assembler for microprocessors from MicroChip to run weld automation machinery that I did for my father for years, small computers like RaspberryPi for my own projects or anything in Python, javascript or any language that falls in my hands to websites with a text processor in the old days doing everything by hand or turning to CMSes like Joomla (for one single client!), Code Igniter for little MVC apps or finally WordPress which I’m working with now for most of my clients and, at the same time, is the reason I want to move to different technologies…

My experience with Google Cloud is near to zero, far away (yet) from “hero”! ;)

What I’m famous for? Being the laziest one around… And it’s not a bad thing! As we say, “Measure twice and cut once”. I always give things a second twist to see if they can be improved/automatized so next time it’s easier to do them. At the beginning it may be slower than going straight to the answer but in the middle and long term it’s worth the initial extra effort.