Why Should You Consider Using Docker as a Developer? | C2C Community

Why Should You Consider Using Docker as a Developer?

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

Docker is an open source containerization platform. It is a platform that makes it easier, simpler, and safer in building, deploying, and managing containerized applications. Docker provides the ability to package and run an application in a loosely isolated environment called a container. The isolation and security allows you to run many containers simultaneously on a given host. Containers are lightweight and contain everything needed to run the application, so you do not need to rely on what is currently installed on the host. You can easily share containers while you work, and be sure that everyone you share with gets the same container that works in the same way. Read more here 

13 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +29

Great post, thanks @Vick !

I am a rookie here on containerization, but as far as Docker is concerned, when it comes to orchestrating large distributed apps with hundreds of connected microservices including databases, secrets and external dependencies, Kubernetes is the best option, correct?

And reading in general and trying to understand it better, Kubernetes “is the future” when it comes to containerization - it’s like a replacement to Docker, correct? 😎

Userlevel 7
Badge +29

Actually, I also just discovered this great post by @jennifer : 

😁

Userlevel 7
Badge +12

Great post, thanks @Vick !

I am a rookie here on containerization, but as far as Docker is concerned, when it comes to orchestrating large distributed apps with hundreds of connected microservices including databases, secrets and external dependencies, Kubernetes is the best option, correct?

And reading in general and trying to understand it better, Kubernetes “is the future” when it comes to containerization - it’s like a replacement to Docker, correct? 😎